The smaller Béguinage (Klein Begijnhof van Onze-Lieve-Vrouw ter Hoyen) in Violettenstraat in the southeast part of the city dates back to 1234, when it was founded by Johanna of Constantinople and her sister Maria. The present day site with its cottages around a large tree-lined lawn has remained unchanged since the 17th C.
These great monastic buildings were initially constructed in the 16th Century by Nicolas du Bois. There is a stunning façade to the building as well as a superb underground chamber inside with stone vaulting.
The former House of Commons has 29 floors and is 114 metres high - it is thus Bonn's highest building. The Bonn people still call it Langer Eugen after the then President of Parliament Eugen Gerstenmeier.
The scupltor Hubertus von Pilgrim began work on the two metre high bronze head in 1981. The head of the former mayor of Cologne and first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany stands on a low bronze base.